2019 Grassroots Football Awards

Merseyside's Grassroots Heroes Acknowledged At Annual Awards Ceremony

Liverpool County FA hosts annual Grassroots Football Awards.

A number of grassroots clubs, leagues, officials and volunteers were honoured at a prestigious awards ceremony on Friday 13 September, hosted by Liverpool County FA.

Taking place at the Marriott Hotel in Liverpool, The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards acknowledge the hard work, dedication and passion of people involved within grassroots football across the country. 

On Merseyside, Liverpool County FA received a high volume of nominations from people within the local football community for this year’s accolades, with the winners receiving their awards as part of the lavish ceremony, which included a three-course meal and entertainment on the evening provided by Liverpool’s X-Factor finalist, Anthony Russell.

Ian Wild, Chairman of Liverpool County FA, said: “Our Grassroots Football Awards ceremony is one of the most eagerly-anticipated events of the season for the simple reason that they’re a celebration of local grassroots football. To be able to acknowledge just a selection of the hardworking individuals, leagues and clubs from our region is a pleasure – and just a small way for us to thank them for their continued work to help make Merseyside grassroots football so special. 

“Of course, it’s also important to say that there are many more people that work just as hard that didn’t receive awards – and we as an Association thank them all for everything they do. Everybody in attendance had a great night and I wish all the best of luck this season.”

The full list of winners from the evening is as follows:

FA & McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards
FA Charter Standard Club of the Year – Kingsley United
FA Charter Standard League of the Year – Liverpool Premier League
Coach of the Year – Chaz Arora (Kirkby Kings JFC)
The Respect Award – Gareth Clarke (Rainhill United JFC)
Match Official of the Year – Karla Wheldon
Grounds Team of the Year – Keith Peacock, Jimmy Cahill and Dave Bourne (Ashton Town FC)
Supporter of the Year – Alan Majewska
Rising Star of the Year – Elle Whittaker (Crosfields JFC)
Volunteer of the Year and Bobby Moore Award – Paul Rimmer (Liverpool Homeless FC)

Referee Award Winners
Les Roberts
Norman Ellis
George Wake
John Doyle
Peter Bankes

Football Service Award Winners

Edge Hill Junior Football League
Football Development Award Winners
Disability Club of the Year – Bootle Bucks Inclusion FC
Disability Project of the Year – Rainford Rangers JFC
Social Inclusion Volunteer of the Year (Liverpool) – Wendy Humphrey-Taylor
Social Inclusion Volunteer of the Year (Widnes) – Ashraf Hamido
Club & Community Development – Lower Breck
Youth Council Graduate – Amy Horne
Outstanding Contribution to Mentoring – Ste Leftley
Contribution to Safeguarding Club Award – Kait Betty (Vulcan FC)
Contribution to Safeguarding League Award – James Sergison (Craven Minor Football League)
Services to Futsal – Joe Ryan (Liverpool Futsal Club)
Services to Futsal – Gareth Etchells (Liverbirds Futsal Club)
Outstanding Contribution to Female Football – Bob Farrant, Rob Wells and Arthur Carson (Mossley Hill Athletic)
Female Development Programme of the Year – Pex Hill JFC

Services to Grassroots Football Award Winners
Jimmy Davies
Earl Jenkins
David Watkins
Tommy Lloyd

Liverpool County FA Long Service Award Winners
FA 50 Years’ Service – Terry Roscoe
FA 50 Years’ Service – Mick Melia
125th Anniversary – Marine AFC
100th Anniversary – Halsall Football Club

Congratulations to all our winners.