lcfa awards

Grassroots Football Awards winners celebrated at special event

A fantastic night at LCFA Sefton celebrating our grassroots football heroes.

The ceremony at LCFA Sefton saw us celebrate the winners of this year’s FA Grassroots Football Awards, and the winners of our own County awards; paying tribute to referees, coaches and volunteers who have made incredible contributions to our Merseyside community and game.

The award categories and winners are listed below. To see full profiles of each of our award winners, download the Liverpool FA Grassroots Football Awards programme (PDF) here

FA Grassroots Football Award Winners

The Grassroots Football Awards recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instil The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determined and Excellent – whilst making a positive difference in their club, league or local community.

  • FA Grassroots League of the Year - Merseyside Inclusion League
  • FA Grassroots Club of the Year - Berkley Junior FC
  • The FA Lioness Award - Inclusion Plus FC
  • FA Grassroots Coach of the Year (Female Pathway) - Kevin Larkin
  • FA Grassroots Coach of the Year (Disability Pathway) - Steven Woodrow
  • FA Grassroots Coach of the Year (Male Pathway) - David McCormack
  • FA Grassroots Match Official of the Year - Thomas King
  • FA Positive Football Environment Award - Mossley Hill Athletic
  • FA Grassroots Young Volunteer of the Year - Ethan James Davies
  • FA Grassroots New Volunteer of the Year - Jack Davies

lcfa awards

Referee Award Winners

Merseyside's passion for refereeing is personified by the winners of our Services to Refereeing Awards, who are all heroes of the grassroots game.

  • Best Refereeing Award - Jim Thompson
  • Best Refereeing Newcomer - Ellie Diamond
  • Refereeing Achievement Award - George Cain

lcfa awards

Outstanding Services to Grassroots Football

These special awards are for the people who have shown ongoing passion, supporting and developing grassroots football across Merseyside.

  • Tom Nugent
  • Simon Boyd
  • Paul Leary
  • Gary Goodwin
  • Mick Hellar
  • John Milligan
  • Andrew Brady

Liverpool FA Long Service Awards

Over the course of many years of grassroots football, these individuals and clubs have been involved in grassroots football in Merseyside and their local community, for over five decades!

  • 50 Years' Service Award - Frank Murphy and Billy Birch

lcfa awards

Football Development Awards

The development of grassroots football is an area that Liverpool FA is strongly committed to. Our aim is to ensure that football is accessible to everybody wishing to play, in addition to maintaining the safety of all participating.

  • Social Inclusion Volunteer of the Year - Keith Johnson
  • Youth Leadership Award - Charlie Garrod
  • Commitment to Safeguarding - Danuta Kay
  • She Inspires Inspiration Award - Becky Williams
  • Outstanding Contribution to Female Football Award - Linzi Davies

You can see a highlights video from the Liverpool FA Grassroots Football Awards below.